share on facebook share on twitter
Breaking News
One Person Charged with Arson Following Westfield Fire Read more

Public Invited to Springfield Police Medal of Honor Ceremony

Springfield, Mass. (WGGB) – Fallen Officer Kevin Ambrose will be receiving a Medal of Honor along with four of his fellow officers to honor their acts of heroism this Thursday.

The ceremony with the Springfield Police Department will take place at Central High School in the Auditorium at 6:00 p.m. on November 29.

The public is welcome to attend.

Medal of honor recipients include Lt. Alberto Ayala, Officer Raul Gonzalez, Officer Marcus Starks, and Trooper Stephen Gregorczyck.  All four are being recognized for the April 30,2011 arrest of Tamik Kirkland.  During the incident both Gonzalez and Gregorczyck were shot.

Ambrose’s family will also be attending the ceremony to accept his Medal of Honor.