Featured on 40:     Well Wishes for Alex     Parade Slideshow     Gas Prices     Weather Discussion    

Jim Parsons, Claire Danes and The Voice Win Emmys

Sep 22, 2013 09:03 PM ET
by Joyce Eng

Tina Fey

Julia Louis-DreyfusJim ParsonsTina FeyMerritt Wever and Tony Hale were among the early winners at Sunday’s 65th Primetime Emmy Awards.

Veep took two awards: comedy supporting actor for Hale and comedy lead actress for Louis-Dreyfus, who won her fourth Emmy. Louis-Dreyfus is the first to defend since Patricia Heaton 11 years ago and joins Lucille Ball, Jean Stapleton and Jean Wyatt as the category’s three-time winners.

Check out all the looks from the Emmys red carpet

Parsons became the fifth person to win comedy lead actor for his turn on The Big Bang Theory after Don Adams, John Lithgow, Tony Shalhoub, Dick Van Dyke.

Wever took home the first prize of the evening for comedy supporting actress for her turn in Nurse Jackie and gave what is arguably one of the shortest (and best) speeches ever: “Thanks so much. I gotta go. Bye.”
Fey won her eighth Emmy for co-writing the  30 Rock series finale with Tracey Wigfield.  

Modern Family‘s Gail Mancuso won comedy directing.


WGGB encourages readers to share their thoughts and engage in healthy dialogue about the issues. Comments containing personal attacks, profanity, offensive language or advertising will be removed. Please use the report comment function for any posts you feel should be reviewed. Thank you.
blog comments powered by Disqus